Prep Baseball Report

2020 Scout Day Spotlight: CT Rangers

Bruce Hefflinger
PBR New England Senior Writer

Follow @pbrnewengland

2020 Scout Day Spotlight: CT Rangers

This is part of a series of stories on summer baseball organizations that "partner" with Prep Baseball Report. The PBR Scout Day is scheduled for Feb. 27.

Organization Name: Connecticut Rangers
Year organization started: 2004
Current teams and what levels (15u, 16u, etc): 6 teams: 2-13u, 1-14u, 1-15u, 1-16u, 1-18u Showcase Team
Influential coaches past and present: Kevin Gilory & Frank Rizzo Rangers coaches and owners of Allstar Batting. Current coaching roster -former professional baseball players Dave Flemming, Sean Fesh, Alex McKeon; former collegiate baseball players Dennis Petrino, PJ Jamieson, Mike Jamieson. Former coaches have gone on to coach at the collegiate or varsity level including Joe Garbowski-New Fairfield HS Varsity Coach, Ian Ratchford- UConn Avery Point Head Coach, Dean White- Immaculate HS Varsity Coach. 

Top Prospects 

  • Matt Garbowski - New Fairfield High School, 2021, UConn commit
  • Braden Quinn - New Fairfield High School, 2021, UConn commit
  • Cam Lathrop - New Fairfield High School, 2021
  • Andrew Aragones - Warick High School, 2021 
  • Danny Gantert - New Fairfield High School, 2022
  • Alex Marino - Dover High School, 2022

Notable Alumni 

  • Brian Moran - Miami Marlins
  • Kyle Mahoney - LA Angels
  • Ryan McGrath - Wake Forest
  • RJ Roman - Northeastern University 
  • Tony Patane - University of Maine
  • Jackson Olsen - University of Hartford, 2020
  • Mike Delease - Central Connecticut State University, 2020


The Connecticut Rangers Baseball program was established in 2004 and is a unique opportunity providing young players from the Greater Danbury area the chance to improve their baseball skills. Playing a highly-competitive schedule will help each player take his game to the next level. We believe that two important components of an athlete’s development are to be challenged by the best competition, and to receive first-class instruction. The strength, speed, and skills that are developed with our 13u-15u teams are then displayed at collegiate showcases and tournaments with our 16u & 18u teams.

How has the program grown? 

Beginning with one team in 2004 to having anywhere between five and eight teams in recent years, the Connecticut Rangers program has grown in size, reputation and expectation. Our former players have helped our program earn a reputation for developing elite ballplayers and great young men. Our 16u & 18u teams have continued to be invited to collegiate team showcases at UConn, Stony Brook, Fairfield, CCSU, Hartford, Marist, Fordham, Sacred Heart and many others. 

Key accomplishments 

  1. Our 2019 18u Showcase Team roster featured 10 players who are either committed to or are currently apart of collegiate baseball programs at UConn, Fairfield, CCSU, Western New England, ECSU, UConn Avery Point and WCSU.
  2. 2021 Catcher and UConn commit Matt Garbowski (New Fairfield High School) was ranked #1 in the PBR New England Class of 2021 Player Rankings. 
  3. 2021 LHP and UConn commit Braden Quinn (New Fairfield High School) was ranked #4 in the PBR New England Class of 2021 Player Rankings. 

How has PBR been helpful?

PBR has been a great resource for the players in our program to help market themselves to play collegiate baseball here in New England. They have done an amazing job organizing our Connecticut Rangers scout days and helping to bridge the gap between our players and local colleges. They have also invited two of our players to participate in the PBR Future Games to help them showcase their skills on a national stage. 

Plans ahead

Our 13u-16u teams will participate in the Greater Hudson Valley Baseball League summer league as well as tournaments at sites such as Baseball Heaven, Diamond Nation and the Connecticut Sportsplex. Our 18u Showcase Team will play league games in the GHVBL as well as participate in team showcases and tournaments at UConn, Marist, Hartford, Sacred Heart, CCSU, SCSU, Westfield State and ECSU.