Missouri Announces Class of 2015 Midwest Future Games Roster

Midwest Future Game 2013 SLIDE

By Ethan Silverman
Missouri Scouting Director

Team Missouri has shown high level talent in the first two years of the invitation only Midwest Future Games Powered by Under Armour event.  Two players off of the inagural 2011 team were drafted in June’s MLB draft; Tanner Murphy (C, Malden HS) in the 4th round by the Braves and Drew Bridges (1B/3B, Carthage HS). In adiiton to the MLB draftees, 16 other members of Team Missouri have accepted scholarships to high level D1 and D2 schools.

Last year’s team was the talk of the Midwest Future Games, and saw several Missouri players set Midwest Future Games records: Jack Benninghoff with an event record of 92-mph from the outfield and Storm Rynard with a top throw of 90-mph acorss the diamond. C/OF Colby Fitch was also names the Future Games MVP. To date, 13 members of last year's team have committed to D1 schools, including LSU, Arkansas, Ole Miss, Nebraska, Missouri State, and Louisville. The 2013 roster, like the past two years, had high end talent which includes Shane Benes from Westminster and Alex lange from Lee's Summit West, and was by far the most talented squad Missouri has entered into the Midwest Future Games to date.

This year’s roster will feature 17 players currently ranked in the Top 20 in the 2015 class.

A quick look at Team Missouri’s roster:


Name State School Class Pos Commitment
Jake Brown MO Clayton 2015 C
Michael Bruhin MO n/a 2015 LHP
Tanner Cantrell MO Houston 2015 1B
Storme Cooper MO Timberland 2015 SS
Justin Dirden MO Ft. Zumwalt North 2015 OF
Marquise Doherty MO Winnetonka 2015 OF
Jeremy Eierman MO Warsaw 2015 SS
Collin Fraley MO Ozark 2015 RHP
Justin Gellman MO Clayton 2015 3B
John Howard MO Clayton 2015 RHP
Ryan Mantle MO Linn 2015 3B
Luke Matheny MO Westminster Christian Academy 2015 RHP
Michael (Mike) Million MO Christian Brothers College High School 2015 C
Ian Nelson MO Timberland High School 2015 SS
Alex Roy MO Bowling Green High School 2015 2B/MIF
CJ Schaeffer Jr MO Timberland 2015 C
Jacob Schlesener MO Logan-Rogersville 2015 LHP
Brian Sharp MO Liberty North 2015 C
Matthew Vierling MO CBC 2015 OF
Logan Wiley MO Kickapoo 2015 RHP

Indiana University is the host for 2013 and provides first-class facilities. Bart Kaufman Field opened just in time for this past season, which turned out to be a historic one for the Hoosiers as they became the first Big Ten team to advance to the College World Series since Michigan in 1984. Indiana opened the College World Series by knocking off Louisville, but was eliminated with back-to-back losses to eventual champion Mississippi State and Oregon State. The Hoosier’s stadium can hold 2,500 fans and has a turf playing surface.