PBR Future Games Preview: RHP Matt McCarty

By Steve Nielsen
Scouting Director – Wisconsin/Illinois

The Prep Baseball Report Future Games is a one-of-a-kind event featuring the top 2016 prospects from across our 10 state coverage area. This year taking place at Grand Park in Westfield, IN from July 31-August 2, hundreds of scouts from across the country will fill the stands to watch some of the top uncommitted 2016 prospects across our coverage area.

Last year Wisconsin’s Class of 2015 Future Games Team went undefeated and has already seen eight Division 1 commitments from that roster. Only days away we will continue to unveil prospects who have been selected to participate in this year's event with a brief history and bio of the player and what we can expect from him at the PBR Future Games.

Name: Matt McCartyMatt McCarty
High School: South Milwaukee
Graduating Class: 2016
Position: RHP
Height: 6-3
Weight: 190

State: 19
Overall: NR

McCarty possesses the typical pitchers frame at 6-foot-3, 190-pounds and stands out with his ability to sink the baseball and work downhill. McCarty has shown the ability to pound the bottom of the zone and induce a plethora of ground balls.

We’ve seen McCarty pitch in the 82-84 range with a 71-74 mph curveball and 76-77 mph change that he shows good feel of. McCarty has a ton of upside and is still a raw specimen on the mound.

Current Team Wisconsin Roster

Name State School Class Pos
Joe Acker WI Marquette University 2016 OF
Tyler Becker WI Menomonee Falls 2016 RHP
Taylor Borchers WI Appleton North 2016 3B
Nathan Brown WI Arrowhead 2016 RHP
Ben Carew WI Kimberly 2016 SS
Matt DeYoung WI Xavier 2016 OF
Jack Eagan WI Wautoma 2016 LHP
Grant Frazer WI Oconto 2016 SS
Zach Gilles WI McDonnell Central 2016 OF
Gannon Goldensoph WI Oak Creek 2016 C
Matt Hamilton WI Oak Creek 2016 RHP
Jackson Hoang WI Pewaukee 2016 OF
Jack Kinzer WI Port Washington 2016 C
Keaton Knueppel WI Verona Area 2016 LHP
Jordan Krueger WI Mukwango 2016 LHP
Keith Kutzler WI Kenosha Tremper 2016 RHP
Adam LaRock WI Eau Claire North 2016 SS
Matt McCarty WI South Milwaukee 2016 RHP
Ryan Schmitt WI Arrowhead 2016 RHP
Jeff Steuck WI Kenosha Tremper 2016 1B

More Wisconsin News