Prep Baseball Report

Wisconsin Announces Midwest Future Games Roster

By Steve Nielsen
Scouting Director

This year the Midwest Future Games has expanded to eight states. It will be the first year for Wisconsin to be represented in the prestigious event, and for the Badger State they will be represented by most of the top 2015 prospects in the state.

For Team Wisconsin they will be sending 18 of the top 22 ranked players in the state. Not known for producing high level baseball players, it will be interesting to see how this group of rising prospects stacks up against the best the Midwest has to offer.

Here’s a look at how the roster looks.


On the mound Wisconsin will be represented by 11 pitchers, six right handers and five southpaws. No. 2 overall prospect in the state, Bryant Jordan (Home School), leads the pack as the 6-foot-1 righty has been touching 88 mph on multiple occasions already this summer. Dustin Landers (Kaukauna) is another right hander to keep an eye on as he recently showed well at Area Codes pitching at 86 mph with feel for three pitches. Right handers Jack Bredeson (Arrowhead) and Simon Rosenblum-Larson (Madison West) both recently earned their spot on the roster with excellent performances at the recent Midwest Future Games Tryout Showcase in Racine. Bredeson stands 6-foot-5 and 215-pounds and featured a sneaky fastball with a heavy feel. Rosenblum-Larson has a projectable frame and arm action with advanced feel for three pitches. Brendan Meissner (West De Pere) and Mitchel Makarewicz (Oak Creek) round out the staff from the right side. Left handed pitchers are led by Nickolas Lackney (Whitefish Bay), Nathan Veloz (Oak Creek), Julian Alverio (Case), Joseph Kaszubowski (Whitefish Bay) and Dakota Klein (Bay Port).


Pete Schuler (Kenosha St. Joseph) is the No. 1 ranked prospect in Wisconsin’s 2015 class. The 6-foot-3 left handed hitting catcher shows power potential and a strong arm. Schuler will undoubtedly turn some heads with his long frame and left handed stick. Speaking of left handed sticks, Rudy Rott (La Crosse Aquinas) is another left handed hitting catcher who might be the most underrated hitter in the class. Rott has one of the more compact and repeatable swings in the state, Rott has proven to have a knack for finding the barrel.


Wisconsin is sending three high level glove men to Indiana in the middle of the field. Alex Henwood (Appleton North), a left handed hitting shortstop has one of the more athletic arm actions around. The 6.8 runner shows a high level of ability to play on the move. Owen Miller (Ozaukee) is a versatile middle infielder with one of the more reliable set of hands in the state. Rounding out the trio is left handed hitting Cade Bunnell (Stoughton) who has a very mature approach at the plate coupled with athletic actions up the middle. At the corners, Julian Alverio is a big bodied left handed first baseman who will provide some pop. Brenden Meissner is also an athletic infielder who might project at third base at the next level with his physical nature. Pet Schuler and Rudy Rott will also contribute at the corners.


Doran Turchin (Oak Creek) is one of the more athletically gifted prospects in the group. Currently ranked No. 4 in the state, this outfielder is one of the more dynamic prospects at the event. Kyle Schulz (Kenosha Bradford) and Joey Baier (Bay Port) are two sophomore outfielders that lead their respective high schools deep into the playoffs in 2013. Schulz is a high contact leadoff type hitter while Baier can bring some gap to gap juice to the lineup.


Name State School Class Pos Commitment
Julian Alverio WI Case 2015 LHP
Joey Baier WI Bay Port 2015 OF
Jack Bredeson WI Arrowhead 2015 RHP
Cade Bunnell WI Stoughton 2015 2B/MIF
Alex Henwood WI Appleton North 2015 SS
Bryant Jordan WI Home School 2015 RHP
Joseph Kaszubowski WI Whitefish Bay 2015 LHP
Dakota Klein WI Bay Port 2015 LHP
Nickolas Lackney WI Whitefish Bay 2015 LHP
Dustin Landers WI Kaukauna 2015 RHP
Mitchel Makarewicz WI Oak Creek 2015 RHP
Brendan Meissner WI West De Pere 2015 RHP
Owen Miller WI Ozaukee 2015 SS
Simon Rosenblum-Larson WI Madison West 2015 RHP
Rudy Rott WI La Crosse Aquinas 2015 C
Pete Schuler WI Kenosha St. Joseph 2015 C
Kyle Schulz WI Kenosha Bradford 2015 LHP
Doran Turchin WI Oak Creek 2015 OF
Nathan Veloz WI Oak Creek 2015 LHP


 More Wisconsin News