Q&A with University of Southern Indiana Commit, Connor Curry

PBR: Why did you choose the University of Southern Indiana?

Curry:  I really liked the campus and it is the perfect distance away from home. The idea of playing for a team that competes for conference and national titles each year was very enticing, as well. Also, my sister goes to University of Evansville, which is just down the road, so it’s very convenient for my family and me.

PBR: Where did USI first see you compete?

Curry:  I’m not sure when they first saw me play, but I attended their showcase in August, and that was the first time I spoke with Coach Archuleta.

PBR: What other schools did you consider?

Curry:  Calhoun CC, Marietta College,Olney Central,and Bellarmine University.

PBR: What role do the coaches expect you to play during your first year on campus?

Curry:  They expect me to work hard, on and off the field, and compete for playing time.

PBR: What team do you play for in the summer and what was your most memorable experience during summer ball?

Curry:  I played for the Indiana Bulls. The most memorable experience was just hanging out with the guys every week, on and off the field. I couldn't have asked for a better group of teammates and coaches.

PBR: Who has had the biggest impact on you as a baseball player?

Curry:  My parents have been incredibly supportive and have made it possible for me to achieve my goal of playing college baseball. Jeff Mercer, my summer coach, really helped me become a better player and person, and I couldn't thank him enough. Also, I have to thank my coaches at Floyd Central, as well as my teammates for making it so much fun.

PBR: Heading into your senior year at Floyd Central, what are your goals individually and as a team?

Curry:  Our goals are to win 20+ games, win a sectional title, and then make a deep run into the state tournament. Individually, I would just like to continue to improve as a player and have fun with my friends. Any individual honors would just be a plus.

PBR: What aspect of your game do you believe needs the most improvement?

The aspects I've been working on the most are my speed and arm strength.

PBR: What were your stats this past summer?

Curry:  With the Indiana Bulls: .368 batting average/ .474 on-base percentage/ 9 2Bs/ 2 3Bs/ 28 runs scored

PBR: Have you decided on a major, or narrowed it down?

I plan on majoring in Accounting.