Columbus Takes the 8A Title over University

Justin Burgess
Florida Area Scout

FORT MYERS—The Columbus Explorers won in a lopsided 8A state championship over the University Titans 10-1. Prior to this game, University was the Cinderella Story of the tournament having lost their district championship and having a record not too far above .500. Unfortunately for the Titans, their magic ran out as they didn’t play well and Columbus played very well.  2015 OF/LHP Alain Santana was the biggest factor for Columbus as he threw a complete game and gave up the one run which was unearned. Also, Santana went 1-4 at the plate with an inside the park home run.

University actually jumped on the board first when 2016 OF Quenell Rutledge reached on an error and also scored on a throwing error to take a 1-0 lead. Columbus, however, answered with a run of their own in the bottom of the frame when 2015 INF Jackie Urbaez drove in a run on a single. The first inning was the only time University was really in the game as Columbus scored three in the second inning and six in the fourth to steal away all the momentum. With this Columbus win, that makes the third Dade County school to win a state championship this year, joining Brito and Westminster Christian.

Statistical Highlights


Alain Santana: 7 IP, 2 hits, 0 ER; 1-4, HR, 2 RBIs

Danny Casals: 2-3, BB, 2 RBIs

Related Content

----FL 8.5.15 underclass games slide - 8.5.15FLunderclassgamesSlide_final.jpg