Prep Baseball Report

I-10 Border Battle Preview: Roster & Check-In Times

Trey Sofio
Louisiana Scouting Director

The Prep Baseball Report I-10 Border Battle will be held at Alex Box Stadium in Beaumont, TX, home of Lamar University and will take place on Saturday, January 13, 2018.

The invite only event is the premier winter event on the Prep Baseball Report Louisiana schedule, featuring several of the top prospects from across the state of Louisiana, taking on prospects from the state of Texas.

Check-in for position players will begin at 8:40 AM and the event will begin promptly at 9:00 AM. Position players will go through a workout, which includes: run times, defensive evaluation, swing analysis with exit velocity and batting practice.

Pitchers only will check-in one hour prior to their scheduled game time.

Pitchers will be limited to a certain pitch count as we follow PitchSmart Guidelines.

As always, players will have their performances video-taped and hosted on the Prep Baseball Report multi-media platform that is subscribed to by over 800 college coaches and professional scouts.

The event currently features 71 of the top prospects from Louisiana and Texas.

2020 IF/OF Davis Meche (Barbe HS, LA) is slated to attend on the Louisiana side of the battle. Currently ranked No. 5 in Louisiana’s 2020 class, and No. 95 Overall, Meche was a standout at last year’s I-10 Border Battle, as well as, the 2017 PBR Future Games. An athletic 5-foot-10, 155-pound frame, Meche shows polish on the infield with soft hands, fluid footwork, and quality arm strength across the diamond. Offensively, the left-handed hitter shows a mature approach with a simple, direct path, feel to hit, and present bat speed.

2019 OF Chandler Hay (Cedar Creek HS, LA) is also scheduled to compete for the Louisiana side this upcoming Saturday. An elite athlete, Hay should off an explosive run tool at November’s North Louisiana Stats Day, posting a 6.37 60-yard dash.

Tulane recruit, Collin Burns (De La Salle HS, LA), and New Orleans recruit, Kasten Furr (Ruston HS, LA) also make up part of the Louisiana roster for the annual event. Burns stands at an athletic 5-foot-10, 170-pounds. A left-handed hitting middle infielder, Burns shows fluid rhythm with bat speed, using a line-drive approach. A right-handed hitter, Furr has been a consistent performer over the course of his high school career, showing a high motor with solid athleticism, and a knack for positively impacting games.


Lamar University
Vincent-Beck Stadium
Jim Gilligan Way
Beaumont, TX, 77705ITINERARY

Check-in at 8:40 – 8:55 am for Position Players 

Event will begin at 9:00 am

Pitchers ONLY Check-In one hour before scheduled game time. 

*Schedule subject to change*

*Teams are subject to change*

Tentative Schedule is as follows:


Game 1 - 12:30 PM, Team 1 vs. Team 2

Game 2 - 2:30 PM, Team 3 vs. Team 4


Team 1
Name State School Class Pos Commitment
John Blanchard III LA St. Thomas Aquinas 2020 3B  
Ethan Chacon LA Hahnville 2021 SS  
Tyler Domiano LA St. Thomas Aquinas 2020 1B  
Dylan Foster LA West Monroe 2019 RHP  
Kasten Furr LA Ruston 2019 SS New Orleans
Joseph Hamilton IV LA Plaquemine 2019 2B  
JT Harper LA Sacred Heart in Ville Platte 2019 OF  
Nick Harris LA The Dunham School 2018 C LSU-Eunice JC
Chandler Hay LA Cedar Creek 2019 OF  
Evan Joubert LA St. Louis Catholic 2021 SS  
Drew Lasseigne LA Central 2019 C  
Nicholas Monceaux LA Leesville 2019 RHP  
David Nolen LA St. Louis Catholic 2019 OF  
Beau Ross LA Many 2019 RHP  
Timothy Ruffino LA Archbishop Hannan 2019 LHP  
Gavin Shepherd LA Ouachita Christian 2019 SS  
Samuel Smith LA St. Thomas Aquinas 2019 C  
Luke Sweeney LA St Thomas Aquinas 2019 3B  
Landon Trosclair LA Teurlings Catholic 2019 C  
Team 2
Name State School Class Pos Commitment
Chase Blackwell TX Cuero 2020 3B  
Mason Brandenberger TX Clifton 2020 LHP  
Tyler Burnett TX Concordia Lutheran 2020 3B  
Andrew Carter TX Montgomery 2020 2B  
Michael Cervantes TX Clear Springs 2019 SS  
Juan Chavez TX Austin 2018 2B  
Carter Claybar TX Little Cypress - Mauriceville 2020 OF  
Nicolas Gullo TX Dripping Springs 2019 SS  
Dylan Ivey TX Atascocita 2020 SS  
Tommy Ivey TX Kingwood Park 2019 OF  
Ommar Jackson TX Mansfield 2019 SS  
Tyler Justice TX Lexington 2020 3B  
Conner Kemp TX Nederland 2019 LHP  
Parker Last TX Billy Ryan 2019 1B  
Pierce Levinthal TX Hardin-Jefferson 2021 LHP  
Jacob Odom TX Anna 2020 C  
River Orsak TX Barbers Hill 2019 SS  
Yanluis Ortiz TX Southlake Carroll 2020 C Miami
John Sanchez TX Yoakum 2020 OF  
Max Soliz TX Homeschool 2021 C Arkansas
Austin Teel TX College Station 2019 LHP  
Team 3
Name State School Class Pos Commitment
Austin Acree LA Claiborne Christian 2019 RHP  
Mitchell Andrews TX Cy-Fair 2020 OF  
Christopher Battaglia LA Lafayette 2019 3B  
Dylan Beier LA Barbe 2019 LHP  
Austyn Benoit LA Welsh 2019 C  
Joey Blanchard LA Zachary 2018 3B  
Collin Burns LA De La Salle 2018 SS Tulane
William Duncan LA St. Paul's 2019 OF  
Bryce Grizzaffi LA Central Catholic 2019 C  
Cade Maginnis LA Jesuit 2019 SS  
Davis Meche LA Barbe 2020 SS  
Josh Phillips TX Bridgeland 2021 3B  
Branon Pope LA Acadiana 2018 RHP  
Cole Posey TX Georgetown 2019 SS  
Nick Vallette LA Sulphur 2019 OF  
Team 4
Name State School Class Pos Commitment
Garrett Arredondo TX George Ranch 2019 3B  
Fabian Bernal TX John Paul Stevens 2019 SS  
Josh Bond TX Cy-Fair 2020 3B  
Matthew Burke TX Kingwood Park 2019 2B  
Hunter Cramer TX Oak Ridge 2020 SS Arkansas
Jorge Figueroa TX Carroll 2020 SS Miami
Drue Hirth TX Cypress Christian 2020 C  
Ben Leisure TX Huffman Hargrave 2018 OF  
Easton Malin TX George Ranch 2019 RHP  
Dylan McDonald TX The Woodlands College Park 2019 RHP  
Braden Mcgary TX Denver City 2019 3B  
Parker Moye TX Evadale 2019 LHP  
Brandon Nelson TX Ridge Point 2021 C  
Caden Queck TX The Woodlands Christian Academy 2020 SS  
Edison Ramos TX Colleyville Heritage 2020 OF  
Cameron Tobola TX Klein Oak 2019 OF  
Keagan Vance TX Clear Lake 2019 SS  
Collin Young TX Magnolia 2020 C  

Related Content