Prep Baseball Report

2018 PBR Future Games - Statistical Analysis

Phil Kerber and Adam Panayotovich
Area Scouts

The Prep Baseball Report Future Games began August 1 at Grand Park, a state-of-the-art 22-field baseball complex located in Westfield, IN, just north of Indianapolis. Over 400 of the top uncommitted 2020 and 2021s in PBR’s 33 state coverage area plus Canada participated in a showcase in front of 200+ college coaches and MLB scouts.

This year’s showcase produced a number of record breaking and record tying performances. OF Grant Hotchkiss (Boyle County, KY; 2020) set a new Future Games record with his blazing fast 6.38 60 yard dash, breaking Spence Gaa’s record of 6.47 seconds, set at the 2011 Future Games. The speed on display was so impressive that three other prospects beat the previous record.

Another record to go down in flames was the top exit velocity of 101 mph, set by Joey Wentz at the 2014 Future Games. OF Avian Rivera (H.H. Dow, MI; 2020) became the new record holder with his 108 mph exit velocity off a tee. Once again, this year’s group of prospects put this record to shame, as five members managed a 102 or better exit velocity.

Finally, two prospects tied the outfield velocity record. The record, set at the 2014 Future Games by Cal Elvers at 95 mph, was matched by OF Isaiah Jackson (Champaign Central, IL; 2020) and OF Trey Carter (Carlisle, VA; 2020).

Below are leaderboards containing the top numbers of the day, along with all the statistics in .pdf form.

CLICK HERE for complete statistics.

Name State School Class Pos 60 Yard Dash
Grant Hotchkiss  KY Boyle County 2020  OF 6.38
Mason Rogers  MO Grain Valley 2020  OF 6.39
Tyler Nelson  IN Chesterton 2020  OF 6.40
BJ Banyon  TN Bartlett 2020  OF 6.41
Jovani Wiggs  NY Shaker 2021  OF 6.48
Joe Delaney  LA Brother Martin 2020  OF/SS 6.49
Saborn Campbell  MI Detroit Country Day 2021  OF/2B 6.51
RJ Moten  NJ Delran 2020  OF 6.52
Jackson Hensley  KY Pikeville 2020  OF 6.53
Corbin Grantham  FL Buchholz 2020  OF 6.55
Name State School Class Pos Exit Velocity
Avain Rivera  MI  H.H.Dow  2020  OF/RHP  108
Nick Neal  NC Randleman 2020 1B 104
John Seibert  PA Warwick 2020 C 102
Thomas Otto  WI Appleton North 2020 C/1B 102
Trey Truitt  NC East Mecklenburg 2020 OF 102
Robert Antonetti  TX Grapevine 2020 C/OF 101
Preston Hall  NC Myers Park 2020 3B 101
Carter Baumler  IA Dowling Catholic 2020 RHP/OF 101
Trey Carter  VA Carlisle 2020 OF/RHP 100
MJ Rodriguez  TX Veterans Memorial 2020 1B/C 100
Name State School Class Pos Infield Velocity
Nicholas Conte  RI  North Providence  2020  SS/RHP 94
Samuel Tackett  KY Lafayette 2020 SS 93
Jake Gelof  FL IMG Academy  2020 INF/RHP 92
Trey Frahm  NE Elkhorn 2020 SS 92
Tyler Nelson  WI Andrean 2020 SS 91
Beau Coffman  KY St. Xavier 2020 SS/RHP 91
Tyler Talbert  TX Flower Mound 2020 RHP/SS 91
Christian McWilliams  LA Haughton 2020 SS/2B 90
Harold Coll  MA Cathedral 2020 SS 90
Name State School Class Pos Outfield Velocity
Isaiah Jackson  IL  Champaign Central 2020  OF/RHP 95
Trey Carter  VA Carlisle 2020 OF/RHP 95
Shawn Scott  TN Clarksville Academy 2020 LFP/OF 93
Logan Hamm  TX Bridge City 2020 OF/RHP 92
Alexander Haire  FL Berkeley Prep 2020 OF/RHP 92
Keegan Allen  AR Bentonville 2021 OF/RHP 92
Trey Truitt  NC East Mecklenburg 2020 OF 92
Kauner Porter  TX Samuel Clemens 2020 3B/RHP 92
Lonnie White Jr.  PA Malvern Prep 2021 OF 91
Marcus Mott  LA Sam Houston 2020 RHP/OF 91
Austin Greco  IL Mundelein 2020 RHP/OF 91
Garrett Newsome  VA Gonzaga 2020 RHP/OF 91
Name State School Class Pos Pop Times
Benjamin David  LA  Barbe  2020  C  1.86-2.08
Nathaniel Price  TX Mansfield Legacy 2020 C/OF  1.88-1.93
Kenneth Jimenez  AZ Nogales 2020 C/2B  1.91-2.00
Mike Schicker  IL Riverside-Brookfield 2020 C/1B  1.91-2.01
Briggs Rutter  TN  Zion Christian 2020 C  1.92-2.16
Nathan Cmeyla  VA Briar Woods 2020 C/INF  1.93-2.01
Zack Lembach  KY Meade County 2020 C  1.93-2.01
Sam Golden  AR Bentonville 2020 C/3B  1.93-2.10
John Zigmond  OH Moeller 2020 C  1.92-2.12
Name State School Class Pos Catcher Velocity
Cole Heath  TN Davidson Academy  2020 RHP/C 84
Trevor Kardell  MO Lee's Summit West 2020 C/RHP 84
Tim Cotter  CT Kingswood Oxford 2020 C/3B 83
Dalton Back  IN Columbus East 2020 C 83
Alejandro Rodriguez  NC Southeast Guilford 2020 SS/C 82
Mike Schicker  IL Riverside-Brookfield 2020 C/1B 81
Nathan Cmeyla  VA Briar Woods 2020 C/INF 81
John Seibert  PA Warwick 2020 C 81
Robert Antonetti TX Grapevine 2020 C/OF 81


Premium Content Area

This article is only available to PBRPlus Subscribers. If you wish to continue reading this article:

Login to the Subscriptions Website.
To purchase a NEW SUBSCRIPTION, please click here to go to our subscription products page.