Prep Baseball Report

I-10 Border Battle: Preview & Rosters

Toby Bicknell
Texas State Director

The Prep Baseball Report I-10 Border Battle is an Invite-Only event geared toward prospects looking to play baseball at the college level. This event will feature a showcase style workout followed by games for the top rising prospects in the state of Louisiana and Texas. The event is currently full for position players, but there are still a couple of PITCHER ONLY slots available.


Three left-handers will highlight the pitching from Texas. 2020 LHP Mason Brandenberger (Clifton HS) is a strike throwing machine with plus command of three pitches. The sophomore was a top performer from the fall (while also playing football for Clifton High) and is currently ranked No. 44 in TX, No. 277 Overall. 2019 LHP Parker Moye (Evadale HS) burst onto the scene at last years I-10 event, where he showed a quick arm and aggressive delivery, pumping 84-87 mph. 2019 LHP Austin Teel (College Station HS) is currently No. 116 in the Texas 2019 Class. Teel’s fastball was up to 86 this summer and he has good feel for his off speed pitches.


There will be a number of highly touted - and ranked - juniors at this event, including several shortstops that are getting a lot of attention from college recruiters. 2019 SS Michael Cervantes (Clear Springs HS), 2019 SS Cole Posey (Georgetown HS), 2019 SS/RHP Nicolas Gullo (Dripping Springs HS), 2019 SS Fabian Bernal (John Paul Stevens HS), and 2019 SS River Orsak (Barbers Hill HS).


2019 OF Tommy Ivey (Kingwood Park HS) is an aggressive player with upside and every time we see him, he puts together quality at bats and is on time with the barrel. 2020 3B Tyler Justice (Lexington HS) has a ton of juice at the plate, and posted one of the top exit velocities from the entire year at the North Texas Underclass Games this summer (101 mph). Last time we saw 2021 3B Josh Phillips (Bridgeland HS) he tore the cover off the ball, blasting a homerun to right field in his first at-bat. 2020 OF/SS Mitchell Andrews (Cypress Fair HS) may be one of the biggest sleepers in the sophomore class. Andrews is a 4.0 student and has a ton of versatility and athleticism. Another junior that spent the fall playing football is 2019 3B Garrett Arredondo (George Ranch HS). Arredondo had a solid performance at the Houston Top Prospect Games this summer.

Razorbacks and Hurricanes

A number of committed players will be in attendance, including a pair of Arkansas commits. 2020 SS Hunter Cramer (Oak Ridge HS) is a fast-twitch, athletic player with pop in the bat and is currently ranked No. 34 in the Texas 2020 Class. 2021 C Max Soliz (Home School) committed to the Razorbacks recently and will be attending his first PBR Event. SS Jorge Figueroa and C Yanluis Ortiz have a lot in common, both are sophomores at Southlake Carroll, and both have already made commitments to Miami.

LUNCH: No food will be provided. Players should bring something to eat with them. If participating in the second game, players will have the ability to go grab lunch between the workout and games.

When: Saturday, January 13, 2018

Who: Open to all Classes

Vincent-Beck Stadium
Lamar University
Jim Gilligan Way
Beaumont, TX, 77705

Position Players:

Check-in at 8:40– 8:55 am


Check-in one hour prior to their game time.

Game 1 will start at approximately 12:30 PM

Game 2 will start at approximately 2:30 PM


Position Players will undergo a pro-style workout including BP and defenisve evaluations followed by a live game with scripted playing time.

Pitchers will throw in a live game with a conservative pitch count to protect the arms of the prospects.

Exposure: The showcase will be featured on the Prep Baseball Report website, which is subscribed to by more than 800 colleges and pro scouts. Event information including statistics and scouting reports will also be posted on the Prep Baseball Report’s website, at Top players will be identified and ranked. Players’ edited videos will also be hosted in the players’ profile along with scouting reports and statistics.

i-10 Border Battle Roster

Team 1
Name State School Class Pos Commitment
John Blanchard III LA St. Thomas Aquinas 2020 3B  
Ethan Chacon LA Hahnville 2021 SS  
Tyler Domiano LA St. Thomas Aquinas 2020 1B  
Dylan Foster LA West Monroe 2019 RHP  
Kasten Furr LA Ruston 2019 SS New Orleans
Joseph Hamilton IV LA Plaquemine 2019 2B  
JT Harper LA Sacred Heart in Ville Platte 2019 OF  
Nick Harris LA The Dunham School 2018 C LSU-Eunice JC
Chandler Hay LA Cedar Creek 2019 OF  
Evan Joubert LA St. Louis Catholic 2021 SS  
Drew Lasseigne LA Central 2019 C  
Nicholas Monceaux LA Leesville 2019 RHP  
David Nolen LA St. Louis Catholic 2019 OF  
Beau Ross LA Many 2019 RHP  
Timothy Ruffino LA Archbishop Hannan 2019 LHP  
Gavin Shepherd LA Ouachita Christian 2019 SS  
Samuel Smith LA St. Thomas Aquinas 2019 C  
Luke Sweeney LA St Thomas Aquinas 2019 3B  
Landon Trosclair LA Teurlings Catholic 2019 C  
Team 2
Name State School Class Pos Commitment
Chase Blackwell TX Cuero 2020 3B  
Mason Brandenberger TX Clifton 2020 LHP  
Tyler Burnett TX Concordia Lutheran 2020 3B  
Andrew Carter TX Montgomery 2020 2B  
Michael Cervantes TX Clear Springs 2019 SS  
Juan Chavez TX Austin 2018 2B  
Carter Claybar TX Little Cypress - Mauriceville 2020 OF  
Nicolas Gullo TX Dripping Springs 2019 SS  
Dylan Ivey TX Atascocita 2020 SS  
Tommy Ivey TX Kingwood Park 2019 OF  
Ommar Jackson TX Mansfield 2019 SS  
Tyler Justice TX Lexington 2020 3B  
Conner Kemp TX Nederland 2019 LHP  
Parker Last TX Billy Ryan 2019 1B  
Pierce Levinthal TX Hardin-Jefferson 2021 LHP  
Jacob Odom TX Anna 2020 C  
River Orsak TX Barbers Hill 2019 SS  
Yanluis Ortiz TX Southlake Carroll 2020 C Miami
John Sanchez TX Yoakum 2020 OF  
Max Soliz TX Homeschool 2021 C Arkansas
Austin Teel TX College Station 2019 LHP  
Team 3
Name State School Class Pos Commitment
Austin Acree LA Claiborne Christian 2019 RHP  
Mitchell Andrews TX Cy-Fair 2020 OF  
Christopher Battaglia LA Lafayette 2019 3B  
Dylan Beier LA Barbe 2019 LHP  
Austyn Benoit LA Welsh 2019 C  
Joey Blanchard LA Zachary 2018 3B  
Collin Burns LA De La Salle 2018 SS Tulane
William Duncan LA St. Paul's 2019 OF  
Bryce Grizzaffi LA Central Catholic 2019 C  
Cade Maginnis LA Jesuit 2019 SS  
Davis Meche LA Barbe 2020 SS  
Josh Phillips TX Bridgeland 2021 3B  
Branon Pope LA Acadiana 2018 RHP  
Cole Posey TX Georgetown 2019 SS  
Nick Vallette LA Sulphur 2019 OF  
Team 4
Name State School Class Pos Commitment
Garrett Arredondo TX George Ranch 2019 3B  
Fabian Bernal TX John Paul Stevens 2019 SS  
Josh Bond TX Cy-Fair 2020 3B  
Matthew Burke TX Kingwood Park 2019 2B  
Hunter Cramer TX Oak Ridge 2020 SS Arkansas
Jorge Figueroa TX Carroll 2020 SS Miami
Drue Hirth TX Cypress Christian 2020 C  
Ben Leisure TX Huffman Hargrave 2018 OF  
Easton Malin TX George Ranch 2019 RHP  
Dylan McDonald TX The Woodlands College Park 2019 RHP  
Braden Mcgary TX Denver City 2019 3B  
Parker Moye TX Evadale 2019 LHP  
Brandon Nelson TX Ridge Point 2021 C  
Caden Queck TX The Woodlands Christian Academy 2020 SS  
Edison Ramos TX Colleyville Heritage 2020 OF  
Cameron Tobola TX Klein Oak 2019 OF  
Keagan Vance TX Clear Lake 2019 SS  
Collin Young TX Magnolia 2020 C  

texas news