Prep Baseball Report

Inside the Numbers: Wisconsin's 2017 Early Signing Period

By Steve Nielsen and Matt Huck
PBR Wisconsin Scouting Staff

This year’s early signing period has wrapped up with 33 early Division I signees and 16 Division II signees. Not quite the number totaled last year by the 2016 class but still an impressive number none the less.

This year’s most intriguing number comes from the amount of home state commits. In previous years the number of in state commits is few and far between when breaking down the states players have committed to. No fault to the schools in the Badger State but there are only two NCAA scholarship programs in the state that participate in the early signing period.

This year 11 prospects stayed home in the Badger State, Wisconsin-Milwaukee nabbing seven of them.

Where are they headed state by state breakdown:

Wisconsin – 7
Illinois – 5
Michigan – 3
Nebraska – 2
Ohio – 2
Oklahoma – 2
Oregon – 2
Texas – 2
Alabama – 1
Colorado – 1
Indiana - 1
Kansas – 1
Kentucky – 1
North Dakota – 1
North Carolina – 1
South Carolina – 1

West Bend West and Indian Trail lead the way for most commits from a WIAA school with three each.

West Bend West’s Nathan Burns (Oregon State), Anthony Schlass (Oklahoma) and Jack Thelen (Wisconsin-Milwaukee) all inked their letters of intent this week. While Ryan Hoerter (Auburn), Nick Elsen (Kent State) and Kyle Antos (Bradley) all did the same for Indian Trail.

Two players have committed to top 25 programs in the country (according to’s 2016 final rankings).

No. 3 TCU – Augie Mihlbauer (Mukwonago)
No. 5 Oklahoma State – Troy Hickey (Wilmot)

Division I Early Commits

Name School Pos. Commitment Conference
Ben Hauser Sun Prairie OF Air Force Mountain West
Ryan Hoerter Indian Trail RHP Auburn SEC*
Kyle Antos Indian Trail C Bradley Missouri Valley
Isaiah Glidden Nicolet RHP Bradley Missouri Valley
Garrett Gilbert Westosha Central C Creighton Big East
Evan Spry Janesville Craig RHP Creighton Big East
Patrick Sisk Marquette University SS Furman Southern
Jack Anderson Pulaski RHP Illinois State Missouri Valley
Chase Davis Milton OF IPFW Summit
Nicholas Elsen Indian Trail OF Kent State MAC
Jack Blomgren Janesville Craig SS Michigan Big Ten*
Ben Dragani Catholic Memorial LHP Michigan Big Ten*
Peter Ahn Marquette University SS Michigan State Big Ten*
Jake Eigner Germantown RHP North Carolina Central Mid-Eastern
Thomas Ginther Baraboo RHP North Dakota State Summit
Alex Rodriguez Cudahy SS Northern Illinois MAC
Griffin Doersching Greendale 1B Northern Kentucky Horizon
Ryan Bader Mukwonago LHP Northwestern Big Ten
Anthony Schlass West Bend West 2B Oklahoma Big 12*
Troy Hickey Wilmot Union LHP Oklahoma State Big 12*
Nathan Burns West Bend West RHP Oregon State Pac 12*
Zach Clayton Oconomowoc 3B Oregon State Pac 12*
Nicholas Urban-Michalak Park SS Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Southland
Augie Mihlbauer Mukwonago LHP Texas Christian Big 12*
Jacob Lindemann Burlington RHP Wichita State Missouri Valley
Zachary Nogalski Marquette University OF Wisconsin-Milwaukee Horizon
Joey Scaffidi New Berlin Eisenhower OF Wisconsin-Milwaukee Horizon
Mitchell Buban Tremper SS Wisconsin-Milwaukee Horizon
Bryce Cross Hortonville SS Wisconsin-Milwaukee Horizon
Jack Thelen West Bend West C Wisconsin-Milwaukee Horizon
Jack Kraus Neenah SS Wisconsin-Milwaukee Horizon
Jack Mahoney Appleton West LHP Wisconsin-Milwaukee Horizon
Trevor Olson Chippewa Falls LHP Xavier Big East

*Denotes NCAA power conference.

Four of the five NCAA power conferences nabbed Wisconsin high school prospects this year. Leaving the ACC as the only power conference not to sign a Wisconsin prospect.

Division II Early Commits

Name School Pos. Commitment Conference
Will Conard Green Bay Preble RHP Minnesota State Northern Sun
Paul Petit Eau Claire Regis RHP Minnesota-Duluth Northern Sun
Harley Deeth La Crosse Central 3B Quincy University Great Lakes Valley
Matthew Osterberg Coleman LHP St. Cloud State Northern Sun
Hunter DeSmet Holmen RHP Upper Iowa Northern Sun
Cody Ryan Markesan 3B Upper Iowa Northern Sun
Joshua Schattner Wilmot Union RHP Winona State University Northern Sun
Tanner Williams Arrowhead SS Winona State University Northern Sun
Zac Stange Eau Claire North 2B Winona State University Northern Sun
Max Van Boxel Green Bay East LHP Winona State University Northern Sun
Logan Grunenwald Wausau West SS Winona State University Northern Sun
Kyle Kosobucki West De Pere C Winona State University Northern Sun
Cole Vento Brookfield East C Wisconsin-Parkside Great Lakes Valley
Michael Pillizzi Kenosha Bradford 2B Wisconsin-Parkside Great Lakes Valley
Isaac Lawler Kenosha Bradford RHP Wisconsin-Parkside Great Lakes Valley
Hunter Weddel Kenosha Tremper 2B Wisconsin-Parkside Great Lakes Valley
Paul Weise Wausau West C Wisconsin-Parkside Great Lakes Valley

Related Content

----IL 1.22.17 Unsigned Sr SLIDE - 1.22.17UnsignedSR_slide_FINAL.jpg